UBC Faculty

Master of Land and Water Systems Faculty


Dr. Les Lavkulich

Program Director
Professor Emeritus, Soil Science and Resource Management & Environmental Studies; P.Ag

Application of science to human welfare and policy development; Land-use dynamics and the rural-urban landscape; Soil chemistry and mineralogy

phone:
604–822–3477
email: lml@mail.ubc.ca

Dr. Hans Schreier

Professor Emeritus, Resource Management & Environmental Studies and Soil Science

Integrated watershed management; Land-water interactions; Non-point source pollution and cumulative effects

phone:
604-822-4401
email: hans.schreier@ubc.ca

Dr. Sandra Brown

Lecturer, Soil Science and Land, Water & Communities

Assessing water allocation in Latin America; Role of soils in the terrestrial hydrological cycle; Characterization of soil–water properties of Andean soils.

phone: 604–822–5965
email: sandra.brown@ubc.ca

Julie Wilson

Lecturer and Academic Coordinator, MLWS Program; P.Ag

Communications for natural resource professionals, urban watershed management, watershed cumulative effects assessment

Kelleen Wiseman

Lecturer, Food & Resource Ecomonics

Economics of food quality; Role of regulation in supporting health communication and Food manufacturers’ response to consumer demand for healthier products.

phone: 604–822–9704
email: kelleen.wiseman@ubc.ca


Dr. T. Andrew Black

Professor, Biometeorology

Energy and water balance of forests; Plant-water relations; Terrestrial–atmosphere CO2 exchange

phone: 604–822–2730
email: andrew.black@ubc.ca

Dr. Maja Krzic

Associate Professor, Soil Science and Applied Biology; P.Ag

Soil quality; Application of information technology in soil science education; Soil compaction in rangelands

phone:
604–822–0252
email: maja.krzic@ubc.ca

Dr. Sean Smukler

Assistant Professor, Integrated Studies in Land & Food Systems and Soil Science and Applied Biology

Agricultural landscape ecology; Biodiversity; Ecosystem services; Sustainable development

phone: 604–822–2795
email: sean.smukler@ubc.ca